Tordex Community
Creating a second True Launch Bar - How is it done? - Printable Version

+- Tordex Community (http://forum.tordex.com)
+-- Forum: True Launch Bar (/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: Features Discussion (/forum-9.html)
+--- Thread: Creating a second True Launch Bar - How is it done? (/thread-1244.html)

Pages: 1 2


- Q Section - 02-16-2004 08:33 AM

Not finding anything in the FAQ's and having no help file and not finding anything in the "Search" TLB Forum we ask here.

How is a second TLB created? If we right-click on the existing TLB and click on "Toolbars" and then click on "New Toolbar" we get a Windows Explorer tree mirroring Windows Explorer. If we then highlight the TLB folder we do not get a second TLB. What we get is a folder the same as the TLB folder in Explorer.

How exactly does one create a second TLB?


- cmishima - 02-16-2004 09:18 AM

I'm surprised. FAQ has had this subject for a long time.

Make a second True Launch Bar


- Q Section - 02-16-2004 09:23 AM

Hello cmishima

Yes we read that FAQ but it does not specify how to
Quote:Return to the taskbar and turn on a second True Launch Bar in the taskbar area.



- cmishima - 02-16-2004 09:34 AM

After returning to the taskbar, right click and choose submenu toolbars then select True Launch Bar. That is all.

I have modified FAQ to show this better. Please check.


- Q Section - 02-16-2004 09:54 AM

Thank you for your reply so far but...

We right-click on the existing toolbar and then
we click on Toolbars and then we
click on True Launch Bar and then the image below shows. What is next? If we click on New it does not work. if we click on some folder in the tree from Select Folder... we get a folder with files.


- cmishima - 02-16-2004 10:09 AM

I think I see what you are trying to do. I think this will help you.

1 Choose True Launch Bar settings
2 Choose toolbars option
3 Choose NEW to make a new TLB toolbar
4 You can make your own folder or choose an existing folder

After you make the toolbar, you can use the switch toolbar command to change toolbars.


- Q Section - 02-16-2004 10:28 AM

We wish to make a second True Launch Bar that shows at the same time as the first True Launch Bar. We would like the second TLB to appear under the first TLB both at the same time on the same screen one below the other. We want to add more plugins to the second TLB. We wish to activate about 12 plugins and they all do not fit on the first TLB to have on display. We are using a 15" monitor set to 800X600.

Perhaps this is not possible at this time. Thank you for your patience but so far we do not seem to be able to do it. If it is possible than can you post a screenshot from your computer?

For the sake of simpicity we do not wish to have any folders or virtual folders anywhere in TLB showing. We only want to have plugins in each.

Thank you.


- cmishima - 02-16-2004 10:40 AM

Yes, what you are trying to do is very easy. Perhaps my explanation is not so good. I think once you have done it you will see how easy it is.

In my case I have two TLB toolbars stacked up. One in called desktop and one is called main.

[Image: twobar.gif]

You can have as many True Launch Bars as you need.


- Q Section - 02-16-2004 10:48 AM

So how (step by step if you please) did you add the second TLB toolbar?


- cmishima - 02-16-2004 10:57 AM

1 Make sure you have already set up the toolbars you wish to 'stack' They should all appear in the manage toolbars option screen of True Launch Bar.

2. Right click on the taskbar and select toolbars / True Launch Bar

3. From the pop up window select the toolbar you wish to activate. After selecting it will appear in the current taskbar

4. After that it's just a matter of dragging the taskbar up to expand the taskbar and then dragging the toolbars into place.

How to expand the taskbar

I think you will soon see that this is very simple. I am sorry my poor English cannot make this more clearer.


- Q Section - 02-16-2004 11:23 AM

cmishima Wrote:1 Make sure you have already set up the toolbars you wish to 'stack' They should all appear in the manage toolbars option screen of True Launch Bar.
First things first. How do you do this? Really we need explicit step-by-step assistance. Please do not assume anything. We are not so good with these things.


- cmishima - 02-16-2004 11:31 AM

I will assume that you have never made a second toolbar.

1 Right click on taskbar
2 Choose TLB settings
3 On the LEFT side panel choose toolbars
4 Click on the NEW button
5 In the pop up window choose to make a new folder or choose a existing folder.
6 Check your toolbar name is set correctly
7 Click Ok


- Q Section - 02-16-2004 11:45 AM

Quote:I will assume that you have never made a second toolbar.
This is correct
Quote:5 In the pop up window choose to make a new folder or choose a existing folder.
By this do you mean we must first create a folder somewhere within Windows Explorer in order to add the second TLB? If this is correct then where must this new folder be created? We are assuming it will be an empty folder since we do not know how to add a plugin to a folder within Windows Explorer.


- cmishima - 02-16-2004 11:58 AM

The folder can be made anywhere on your system.

If you look to the bottom left of the BROWSE FOR FOLDER window you will see an option for MAKE NEW FOLDER so you do not need to use explorer.

Yes it will be an empty folder. You can then add new buttons or plugins in the usual way.

Further reading How to Switch toolbars


- Dracula - 02-16-2004 01:50 PM

I can understand the confusion of QSection. Especially in the "Specify folder" window it's not entirely clear what to do... does it expect some special existing folder, and why didn't it ask for the first bar...?
Here's the answer Smile

By default, the (first) TLB toolbar is stored in your standard Quick Launch folder. This way it automatically starts with your original Quick Launch items in it...

If the second toolbar did the same, you would end up with two identical bars... so that's the reason you need to specify a new location to store the shortcuts for the second bar. I created a directory "C:\Program Files\True Launch Bar\toolbars\" for this...