Positioning question with System Monitor multicore CPU
Started by szekelya


Rate this topic
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


6 posts in this topic
szekelya
Junior Member
**


0
37 posts 15 threads Joined: Feb 2010
02-22-2010, 02:09 AM -
#1
Hi,

I have created a system monitor skin with two simple CPU and a PHYS_USED diagram/text. See config below.

My problem is, that regardless that the skin starts with the PHYS_USED diagram and text, TLB renders the multicore diagrams and texts first. It looks like this:
[Image: sysmon.jpg]
(The red text is just photoshopped to show what's what.)

My problem is that:
-I can't position the memory diagram/text before the CPUs
-Even if I want to use a background (simple legend like CPU0: CPU1: MEM: before the percentage texts) the background gets positioned where the PHYS_USED starts, so no background goes behind the multicore diagrams.

What do I do wrong? Here's the .ini:

Code:
[options]
name    = Stripe
author    = szekelya

[general]
#background         = stripebg.png
autosize            = none
size            =80 0

[Diagram1]
field = PHYS_USED
type = HorzRow
size = 60 1
point = 0 14
color = 244 192 11
emptyColor = 255 255 255 85
fillType = solid
startFrom= left

[DataSlot1]
field = PHYS_USED
format = percent
font            = Segoe UI
bold            = 0
italic            = 0
align            = left
pos            = 20 0
size            = 20 12
color            = 255 255 255

[core]
coreSize    = 62 22
dock = left
type = HorzRow
size = 60 1
point = 0 14
color = 244 192 11
emptyColor = 255 255 255 85
fillType = solid
startFrom= left
rows = 1

[coretext]
showText         = 1
font            = Segoe UI
bold            = 0
italic            = 0
align            = left
pos            = 20 0
size            = 62 14
color            = 255 255 255
Visit my deviantArt gallery: http://ethsza.deviantart.com
szekelya
Junior Member
**


0
37 posts 15 threads Joined: Feb 2010
02-22-2010, 04:42 AM -
#2
Since posting this, I have recognized that the core and coretext was poorly positioned.
Now that I have moved them to a correct place, the order is fine, but the placement of the whole config is still not OK.
It seems, that once I put in the [core] section, the whole stuff is moved from left to somewhere in the middle. Now if I make the size wide enough to show the whole config, there's a ~120px empty space to the left of the config like this (order: mem, cpu0, cpu1):

size set to 190 22:
[Image: size190.jpg]
size set to 240 22:
[Image: size240.jpg]


Basically the config looks like this now (shall I post another screenshot?):

Code:
[options]
name    = Stripe
author    = szekelya

[general]
#background = stripebg.png
autosize            = none
size            = 190 22

[Diagram1]
field             = PHYS_USED
type             = HorzRow
size             = 60 1
point             = 0 14
color             = 244 192 11
emptyColor         = 255 255 255 85
fillType             = solid
startFrom            = left

[DataSlot1]
field             = PHYS_USED
format             = percent
font            = Segoe UI
bold            = 0
italic            = 0
align            = left
pos            = 20 0
size            = 20 14
color            = 255 255 255


[core]
coreSize            = 62 22
dock             = left
type             = HorzRow
size             = 60 1
point             = 190 14
color             = 244 192 11
emptyColor         = 255 255 255 85
fillType             = solid
startFrom            = left
rows            = 1

[coretext]
showText         = 1
font            = Segoe UI
bold            = 0
italic            = 0
align            = left
pos            = 210 0
size            = 60 14
color            = 255 255 255
Visit my deviantArt gallery: http://ethsza.deviantart.com
Yuri Kobets
Posting Freak
*****


10
6,208 posts 429 threads Joined: Jan 2002
02-22-2010, 04:46 AM -
#3
Quote:-I can't position the memory diagram/text before the CPUs

Section [core] set the value dock into right. This defines the side where to show cores. BTW here is doc Wink

Quote:-Even if I want to use a background (simple legend like CPU0: CPU1: MEM: before the percentage texts) the background gets positioned where the PHYS_USED starts, so no background goes behind the multicore diagrams.
I'm not sure, but I guess it is possble to use the [image#] section to make something like background (see the doc). This is just an image and it can be drawn into any position and overlay the cores.
The TORDEX Team
http://www.tordex.com
Yuri Kobets
Posting Freak
*****


10
6,208 posts 429 threads Joined: Jan 2002
02-22-2010, 05:02 AM -
#4
Quote:Since posting this, I have recognized that the core and coretext was poorly positioned.

Here is fixed skin:

Code:
[options]
name   = Stripe
author   = szekelya

[general]
autosize         = none
size         = 60 22

[Diagram1]
field          = PHYS_USED
type          = HorzRow
size          = 60 1
point          = 0 14
color          = 244 192 11
emptyColor       = 255 255 255 85
fillType          = solid
startFrom         = left

[DataSlot1]
field          = PHYS_USED
format          = percent
font         = Segoe UI
bold         = 0
italic         = 0
align         = left
pos         = 20 0
size         = 20 14
color         = 255 255 255


[core]
coreSize         = 62 22
dock          = right
type          = HorzRow
size          = 60 1
point          = 0 14
color          = 244 192 11
emptyColor       = 255 255 255 85
fillType          = solid
startFrom         = left
rows         = 1

[coretext]
showText       = 1
font         = Segoe UI
bold         = 0
italic         = 0
align         = left
pos         = 20 0
size         = 60 14
color         = 255 255 255
The TORDEX Team
http://www.tordex.com
Yuri Kobets
Posting Freak
*****


10
6,208 posts 429 threads Joined: Jan 2002
02-22-2010, 05:10 AM -
#5
well, here is the skin with the legend Smile
[attachment=0]


Attached Files Image(s)
   

.zip   Stripe.zip (Size: 1.26 KB / Downloads: 366)
The TORDEX Team
http://www.tordex.com
szekelya
Junior Member
**


0
37 posts 15 threads Joined: Feb 2010
02-22-2010, 05:20 AM -
#6
Great! It works as I intended to do it!
Now I understand what size under [general] section, and what the dock = right means.
I still don't understand but I guess the point under [core] and pos under [coretext] might be relative to where the core is docked.
Actually I have read the documentation pdf, but couldn't interpret it no matter how many times I read it.

As for the documentation and the legend:
In the DataSlot# section the doc says: text – (optional) any text string to draw. If that is used to add free text to the skin, I'd like to use that as a legend, instead of photoshopping ascii text. The aim is to make the text part like this: Mem: 64% CPU0:10% CPU1:12%.
How do you use that? I couldn't get anything shown until I have defined the field parameter, however it says that parameter text is ignored if the field (the feald is a typo, right?) parameter is defined.

Many thanks for the help!!
Visit my deviantArt gallery: http://ethsza.deviantart.com


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)