[Solved] Want Menus to Have Different Color Backgrounds
Started by danmeek


Rate this topic
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


12 posts in this topic
danmeek
Senior Member
****


0
351 posts 119 threads Joined: Mar 2003
08-15-2009, 04:42 AM -
#1
Say I have a main toolbar, with many large menus. When each menu appears, I want it to have a different background color than the other menus.

Can this be done?
danmeek
Senior Member
****


0
351 posts 119 threads Joined: Mar 2003
08-24-2009, 09:51 AM -
#2
Sorry to see that 9 days on this forum has not elicited a response from Yuri.

I would also like to set up a color scheme for submenus that is different from the color scheme of the menu. How to do?
Yuri Kobets
Posting Freak
*****


8
6,183 posts 427 threads Joined: Jan 2002
08-24-2009, 10:00 AM -
#3
Sorry for delay :oops:

Currently it is impossible to set the own color for menus. But I like the idea, thank you.
The TORDEX Team
http://www.tordex.com
danmeek
Senior Member
****


0
351 posts 119 threads Joined: Mar 2003
09-15-2010, 02:31 AM -
#4
Any chance of adding this feature?
Yuri Kobets
Posting Freak
*****


8
6,183 posts 427 threads Joined: Jan 2002
09-15-2010, 09:36 AM -
#5
I'll add this feature in one of the next versions.

Actually you can change the menu background color right now with the overlay image. Create the picture (PNG, JPG, BMP...), fill the picture with the color you need and set this picture as overlay image with stretch. See screenshots.


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
The TORDEX Team
http://www.tordex.com
danmeek
Senior Member
****


0
351 posts 119 threads Joined: Mar 2003
09-16-2010, 02:05 AM -
#6
Thanks. I see one screenshot, with blue.png. I do not know how to create such a png file. Could you post some in various colors?
danmeek
Senior Member
****


0
351 posts 119 threads Joined: Mar 2003
09-16-2010, 02:23 AM -
#7
Also, you say "Actually you can change the menu background color right now with the overlay image." I actually do not want to change a menu background color (and that can easily be done with TLB settings). I want to change the background color for all submenus on a menu but not the menu itself.

Further, I created a background file, purple.png, which I am uploading. I went to a submenu and changed the overlay for the submenu as you instructed. The result was no change at all in the appearance of the submenu.


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
danmeek
Senior Member
****


0
351 posts 119 threads Joined: Mar 2003
09-16-2010, 02:28 AM -
#8
OK, I figured it out. In order to have the submenus a different color, you have to click on Customize Menu, not Customize Sub-Menu. Further, you must to this for every folder in the menu, which is very cumbersome for large menus.

There needs to be a way to specify, for all submenus in a menu, a background color that is different from the background color of the menu itself. The method you have provided is too cumbersome to apply to all of my submenus individually.
danmeek
Senior Member
****


0
351 posts 119 threads Joined: Mar 2003
09-16-2010, 02:30 AM -
#9
OK, I figured out how to apply the new color to every submenu at once. You right click on an item in the menu and choose Customize Menu. Then, counter-intuitively, the change applies to all submenus but not to the menu itself. This is certainly not obvious.
danmeek
Senior Member
****


0
351 posts 119 threads Joined: Mar 2003
09-16-2010, 02:32 AM -
#10
And with this method, you can only change the background color and not the text color.
danmeek
Senior Member
****


0
351 posts 119 threads Joined: Mar 2003
09-16-2010, 02:40 AM -
#11
Changing the color of all submenus to something different from the color of the menu makes it much easier to select what I want from the submenus. Otherwise, it is difficult to tell what is part of the menu and what is part of the submenu.

Thanks for the tip. This really makes TLB much better.
danmeek
Senior Member
****


0
351 posts 119 threads Joined: Mar 2003
05-14-2011, 05:06 AM -
#12
Yuri has improved the latest version re this request. Now I can make all submenus have a different color from the menu itself by choosing Customize Sub-Menus and selecting a skin or an overlay. Thanks!


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)