Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Standalone TLB Properties -- setting the Hot spot size ?
03-05-2012, 10:38 AM
Post: #1
Standalone TLB Properties -- setting the Hot spot size ?
Standalone TLB Properties -- setting the Hot spot size ?

1st let me say how much I LOVE & depend upon my TLB!

It's set to Auto-Hide on the R of the screen, Show Delay = 1, Hide Delay = 1,
it's super snappy when I bang against the R desktop w/ the mouse cursor ! & just how I like it.

I was just looking at the Properties dialogue box (the one w/ 0 tabs),
and I think my question might be related to the option called "Hot spot size:",
which is currently set to 0 pixels.

Can I configure it so that TLB will only respond to the mouse activating it,
from only 1/4 of the way up from the bottom -

say if the R side of my screen is 12" tall,
then I'd like the toolbar to pop out only if I would touch it along in the first 3"- 4"
from the bottom of the screen?

then I wouldn't accidently be activating it when I overshoot for the scroll bar in Explorer or browser.

Thanks !!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-08-2012, 05:55 AM
Post: #2
RE: Standalone TLB Properties -- setting the Hot spot size ?
Calling Yuri !! Smile

76 views & no responses?

Do I need to rephrase my question? i'd be glad to ......... thx
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-08-2012, 06:29 AM
Post: #3
RE: Standalone TLB Properties -- setting the Hot spot size ?
I'm here Blush

I think I'll add the hot spot margins options (near and far) to the Standalone TLB. So you can shift the active area to any place.

Is this OK?

The TORDEX Team
http://www.tordex.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-08-2012, 10:18 AM
Post: #4
RE: Standalone TLB Properties -- setting the Hot spot size ?
That would be so great, thanks!
how will I know when it's done?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-09-2012, 02:07 AM
Post: #5
RE: Standalone TLB Properties -- setting the Hot spot size ?
Try the attached version. The zip contain 32 and 64 bit version. Replace the tlbHost.exe in TLB installation folder (default C:\Program Files\TrueLaunchBar)

Backup the old version before replacing Wink

Let me know hot it works.


Attached File(s)
.zip  tlbhost.zip (Size: 327.37 KB / Downloads: 239)

The TORDEX Team
http://www.tordex.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-09-2012, 04:18 AM (This post was last modified: 03-09-2012 04:19 AM by donnell.)
Post: #6
RE: Standalone TLB Properties -- setting the Hot spot size ?
Thank You! Now, I just need to figure out how it works, so I don't break anything Wink

Click "Toolbar Properties", I think I see the 3 new options you added at the bottom -

Hot spot size:
Hot spot Near margin:
Hot spot far margin:

How exactly to configure them? or, what do each affect?

Thx again Smile

btw - I'm on XP.sp3, but about to move on (finally!) to 7 Pro or Ultimate
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-09-2012, 05:11 AM
Post: #7
RE: Standalone TLB Properties -- setting the Hot spot size ?
Quote:say if the R side of my screen is 12" tall,
then I'd like the toolbar to pop out only if I would touch it along in the first 3"- 4"
from the bottom of the screen?
Find the vertical resolution of your screen. Let's it be 768 pixels.
768 - 12"
X - 3"

So you need margin: 768 * 3 / 12 = 192 pixels. But you need the hot space at the bottom. So 768 - 192 = 576. Set the "Hot spot near margin" into 576 and toolbar pop out if you touch 192 pixels at the bottom.

Actually the margins are applied to the toolbar height/width not a screen resolution.

The TORDEX Team
http://www.tordex.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-09-2012, 06:52 AM
Post: #8
RE: Standalone TLB Properties -- setting the Hot spot size ?
CoolHeartCool

I set near margin = 600, then played around & found that if i set far margin = 200,
then my "Hot Spot" is about a 1" target on the side of the screen,
so I just made some little marks there --

then that lets me carelessly bang against the edge of the screen with the mouse/cursor to grab a scrollbar --

anywhere except that 1" target Hot Spot,

and that's JUST what I wanted, so THANKS !

now, can I send you a little PayPal donation so you can have a drink on me?
tell me here or PM me, and so great Thanks once again, Yuri Big Grin

... everything that lets me compute faster/closer to the speed of thought, is wonderful Tongue

`
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-09-2012, 02:03 PM
Post: #9
RE: Standalone TLB Properties -- setting the Hot spot size ?
(03-09-2012 06:52 AM)donnell Wrote:  now, can I send you a little PayPal donation so you can have a drink on me?
tell me here or PM me, and so great Thanks once again, Yuri Big Grin
You're welcome Smile My paypal email is yuri.kobets@tordex.net Big Grin

The TORDEX Team
http://www.tordex.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-18-2013, 11:12 AM
Post: #10
RE: Standalone TLB Properties -- setting the Hot spot size ?
Yeah these near/far/size margins don't make any sense to me. All I really want is that the "top 5" pixels of the screen (where the bar is on the top) do not activate the bar.

Better yet, in my opinion, would be able to say auto-hide (unhide) really only happens while I'm holding down control or alt or some combination.

Would this be possible?

I'd also like to say that I'm a *long time* user of TLB and I must say Yuri that you have one of the most indispensable tools I have ever had. I cannot believe you still only charge $20 for the product. I'm going to send you a donation right now.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-18-2013, 11:46 AM
Post: #11
RE: Standalone TLB Properties -- setting the Hot spot size ?
Quote:Yeah these near/far/size margins don't make any sense to me. All I really want is that the "top 5" pixels of the screen (where the bar is on the top) do not activate the bar.
Measuring in inches on screen is depends of monitor you are using. So this can be very inaccurate. Anyway try to see this video: http://youtu.be/dJ5ZhRvPvD4
I've tried to explain how the near/far margins are working. The hotspot size just give you some space before screen edge to activate auto-hide. Usually this is useful for multi monitor systems.

Quote:Better yet, in my opinion, would be able to say auto-hide (unhide) really only happens while I'm holding down control or alt or some combination.
I think this is the great idea! I'll add this feature in the next version. Thank you.

Quote:I'd also like to say that I'm a *long time* user of TLB and I must say Yuri that you have one of the most indispensable tools I have ever had. I cannot believe you still only charge $20 for the product. I'm going to send you a donation right now.
Thank you very much! I very appreciate your donation.

The TORDEX Team
http://www.tordex.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)