What is the purpose of the profiles option
Started by jfkcotter


Rate this topic
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


11 posts in this topic
jfkcotter
Junior Member
**


0
8 posts 2 threads Joined: Feb 2004
02-18-2004, 11:07 AM -
#1
On the TLB settings screen/general options there is a profiles option.

What does this do? I thought it would save all current the TLB settings to one file but I don't think it does. ???

Can someone check and tell me about this feature.
bbfi
Member
***


0
132 posts 4 threads Joined: Feb 2003
02-18-2004, 12:53 PM -
#2
jfkcotter,

You can have more than one TLB running on your computer. Therefore, each TLB has its own profile and is saved separately. Wink

That's how I figure it. Can anyone else confirm this?
jfkcotter
Junior Member
**


0
8 posts 2 threads Joined: Feb 2004
02-19-2004, 09:27 AM -
#3
Sorry - I'm still not clear as to the function.
HorusUK
Senior Member
****


0
458 posts 40 threads Joined: Dec 2003
02-19-2004, 11:21 AM -
#4
From some experimentation with this, and with no documentation (AFAIK!), it appears to save SOME of the settings into a profile that can then be recalled and applied to a different True Launch Bar.

As it doesn't appear to save all the settings, and as we're unclear as to it's actual purpose, I should imagine it's still in development...
Back once again...
Yuri Kobets
Posting Freak
*****


8
6,183 posts 427 threads Joined: Jan 2002
02-22-2004, 01:13 PM -
#5
Profiles is the best way to save all options from TLB Settings dialog box. So when you create new toolbar you can quickly apply all options to this toolbar. Other way of use: switching between profiles. This option can be useful for owners of laptops. There are some options for mouse that can be useful when you are using usual mouse and these options becomes irritating when you switch to touch pad.

HorusUK what settings do not saved into profile?
Quote:with no documentation (AFAIK!)
The documentation will come with final release. It is too hard to support docs for betas.
The TORDEX Team
http://www.tordex.com
cmishima
Senior Member
****


0
347 posts 138 threads Joined: Jun 2001
02-22-2004, 02:06 PM -
#6
Quote:what settings do not saved into profile?
I have only tested briefly but the SHOW TITLE option is not saved by the profiles feature.

I will test more thoroughly this week.
Please read the True Launch Bar FAQ (Frequently asked questions)
<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.truelaunchbar.info">http://www.truelaunchbar.info</a><!-- m -->
Yuri Kobets
Posting Freak
*****


8
6,183 posts 427 threads Joined: Jan 2002
02-22-2004, 02:10 PM -
#7
SHOW TITLE - this is "Hide toolbar title" option or not? Can you tell the tab name where this option is?
The TORDEX Team
http://www.tordex.com
cmishima
Senior Member
****


0
347 posts 138 threads Joined: Jun 2001
02-22-2004, 02:57 PM -
#8
Yes, on toolbar options HIDE TOOLBAR TITLE is not saved.
Please read the True Launch Bar FAQ (Frequently asked questions)
<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.truelaunchbar.info">http://www.truelaunchbar.info</a><!-- m -->
Yuri Kobets
Posting Freak
*****


8
6,183 posts 427 threads Joined: Jan 2002
02-22-2004, 03:14 PM -
#9
this is GLOBAL option it take effect to all toolbars.
The TORDEX Team
http://www.tordex.com
cmishima
Senior Member
****


0
347 posts 138 threads Joined: Jun 2001
02-23-2004, 09:33 AM -
#10
Quote:this is GLOBAL option it take effect to all toolbars.
Yes I see however the True Launch Bar option to HIDE TITLES does not work together with the context menu option to SHOW TITLE.

Correctly Toolbar title disappears if I turn on True Launch Bar HIDE TITLES (after refresh on each individual toolbar) but does not automatically RE-appear if I unmark HIDE titles. I must manually right click and choose SHOW TITLE on context menu.

This is confusing.

I think a more correct function would be to

- allow each toolbar title to be set ON or OFF individually
- rename TLB function HIDE TITLES to same as context SHOW TITLE and make it a ON/OFF switch.

This would be more logically and would help the new user understand this ability better.

Thank you.
Please read the True Launch Bar FAQ (Frequently asked questions)
<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.truelaunchbar.info">http://www.truelaunchbar.info</a><!-- m -->
Yuri Kobets
Posting Freak
*****


8
6,183 posts 427 threads Joined: Jan 2002
02-23-2004, 06:49 PM -
#11
Yes, you are right. I'll make this option individually for toolbar.
The TORDEX Team
http://www.tordex.com


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)