Start Killer hoverable?
Started by Bender


Rate this topic
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


11 posts in this topic
Bender
Junior Member
**


0
38 posts 8 threads Joined: Nov 2001
10-26-2002, 11:49 AM -
#1
Would it be possible to make StartKiller hoverable to at least open the menu?

I guess it would be hard to make it close by leaving the area because it just triggers the real startmenu - but for opening it, it should be possible?

regards,
Bender
regards,
Bender
Bender
Junior Member
**


0
38 posts 8 threads Joined: Nov 2001
12-18-2002, 09:12 AM -
#2
.... ooops .... i just stumbled and accidently pushed this topic back to the top ...

Big Grin
regards,
Bender
shapeshifter
Senior Member
****


0
658 posts 24 threads Joined: Sep 2002
12-18-2002, 10:29 PM -
#3
Here's an option to do what you want using TLB and one of Yuri's utilities called PressStart (available here). To do this, you'll probably want to put it on it's own toolbar, so go into TLB Settings and create a new one (Toolbars tab). Add this new toolbar to your taskbar (right click on the taskbar, select "Toolbars", then "True Launch Bar ..." (make sure you select the one with the three periods). Select the new toolbar you created and hit OK. Add a shortcut to the PressStart program on this toolbar, tehn open up TLB Settings for this toolbar. On the General tab, there's an option to run shortcuts on hover, with an associated delay. Check that box and set the delay as desired. Now your start menu will appear if you hover on that icon, and you can hide the start killer icon in your system tray - you won't need it anymore.
I hope this is similiar to what you were trying to do and you haven't changed your mind Big Grin
Bender
Junior Member
**


0
38 posts 8 threads Joined: Nov 2001
12-19-2002, 08:55 AM -
#4
Thanx shapeshifter.

This is a good idea and it works the way i intended it to be.

Smile

Also i withdraw hereby my request for this feature. No need to waste time implementing this in the program itself.
regards,
Bender
Yuri Kobets
Posting Freak
*****


8
6,182 posts 427 threads Joined: Jan 2002
12-19-2002, 04:22 PM -
#5
shapeshifter
Great tip!!! I never thought about this opportunity Big Grin
The TORDEX Team
http://www.tordex.com
BarryJ
Junior Member
**


0
11 posts 2 threads Joined: Dec 2002
12-19-2002, 08:17 PM -
#6
I just changed my PressStart to hover and I must say that even though I'm doing one less click, it adds a lot of productivity. Thanks for the tip!
shapeshifter
Senior Member
****


0
658 posts 24 threads Joined: Sep 2002
12-19-2002, 10:20 PM -
#7
Glad everyone is finding it useful Smile But really, Yuri's done all the hard work here Smile
mark76uk
Member
***


0
111 posts 17 threads Joined: Feb 2003
05-19-2003, 10:20 AM -
#8
Even with Shapeshifters tip, the Start menu will not pop-up
if I hover over the Presstart shortcut icon while dragging a
file.

This is quite important for managing the start menu - adding
new files and shortcuts.

At the moment I must press the Windows key to make it pop
up.

/Mark
shapeshifter
Senior Member
****


0
658 posts 24 threads Joined: Sep 2002
05-19-2003, 11:51 AM -
#9
Hmm.. I also just noticed that the start shortcut on hover thing doesn't work if a window (and not the taskar) has the active focus.
WinXP Pro (5.1.2600) SP1 TLB 3.0 IE 6.0.2800.1106 Shell 6.0.2800.1106
Command Line 3.3.0.0 Process Viewer 2.0.0.0 Calculator 1.0.0.0
Weather Forecast 1.0.0.0 Media Control 4.0.0.0 Volume Control 2.1.0.0
Net Monitor 1.4.0.0 Up Time 2.1.0.0 System Monitor 2.4.0.0
Drive Space 2.3.0.0 Mail Monitor 1.9.9.0 TLB Clock 1.3.0.0
a1ehouse
Member
***


0
54 posts 6 threads Joined: Mar 2003
05-19-2003, 11:18 PM -
#10
It's because it's a shortcut, not a menu item. In TLB settings, you have to select Run Shortcuts on mouse hover, and it will work fine! Big Grin
...it maekesh me do a shecks wee...
[Image: A1eSig.jpg]
mark76uk
Member
***


0
111 posts 17 threads Joined: Feb 2003
05-19-2003, 11:59 PM -
#11
Quote:In TLB settings, you have to select Run Shortcuts on mouse hover, and it will work fine!

No for me, I already did that. That's the tip Shapeshifter
gave - run shortcuts on hover.

/Mark


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)