Writing plugins - How to questions..
Started by mark76uk

Rate this topic
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

16 posts in this topic
mark76uk

111 posts 17 threads Joined: Feb 2003
04-20-2003, 11:39 AM -
I'm thinking of beginning programming again.

My experience:
Complex BASIC from the ages of 10 to 18 (i'm 26 now.)
Making heavy modifications to PERL scripts.
Read the JAVA manual from start to finish.
I have no experience with Windows programming.

What exactly is the relationship between a plugin and True
Launch Bar?

Do you think plugins can be written with Borland Delphi or
Borland C++ Builder? I'm looking at those as a beginning, as I
learn well from examples.

I found a tlbpdk.zip through the forum search, but I don't
even know what the filetypes are (.cpp .h .ncb .sln)!!

Perhaps you should consider adding a plugins spec to the
TrueSoft website. I think you may get more contributors if
the information is available.

/Mark
shapeshifter

658 posts 24 threads Joined: Sep 2002
04-20-2003, 02:38 PM -
Quote:I don't even know what the filetypes are (.cpp .h .ncb .sln)!!

I don't know about the last 2, but .cpp is a standard C++ file, and .h is a C++ header file (function and variable declarations, usualy). Both are unformated text.

By the way, I might be interested in developing plugins, too, but I don't know where to start. I've done windows programming with Visual C++, but I've never written a .dll, so I'm not sure how that works.
Yuri Kobets
Posting Freak

6,208 posts 429 threads Joined: Jan 2002
04-20-2003, 03:51 PM -
.ncb - internal MS Visual C++ file
.sln - project (solution) file for MS Visual C++

Quote:By the way, I might be interested in developing plugins, too, but I don't know where to start. I've done windows programming with Visual C++, but I've never written a .dll, so I'm not sure how that works.